But I must leave

There is a contradiction in our longing; it being the very thing that binds us together and the very thing that divides us.” 

Aslan Bikel

 

I sing you

               sing you to stay

 and now my body becomes   

                 a bed where you sleep

and now my eyes become

                the home that once escaped you

 and now here we are singing

                               sing us to stay

                         and each note we sing is the color

                                                  of green wheat and rain

                                                           is the color of the heart’s lengthening wake.

Note:  I am not sure about this poem.  I like the way it flows but it feels like something is missing. The last line needs more ummph!

One Reply to “But I must leave”

Leave a Reply

