Sins of the Fathers

first published in BloodLotus July Issue

I am on a train in winter
leaving Krakaw-
Just having stolen my grandfather,
the Rabbi’s silver
beard

A young woman sits on the bench
across from me. She smiles at me
as if she knows what I’ve done.

So I weave his beard into a small child
who sits very still next to me
till a draft makes him sway

My breath fogs the window
everything is so white I can’t
make anything out –

except my grandfather looking

into the old mirror, rubbing
the stubble of his face
not recognizing himself.

Leave a Reply

