The Origin of Sighs

Another rough draft. Please let me know what you think.

Why do you sigh, love?
She asks.

Because I thought I had
misplaced my home on
an outbound train.

“Sometimes it is good to be wrong.”

Because the letter you have
written, though written in the
language of beating wings
Hasn’t told me anything.

a little later
under a yellow buzzing
street light

Why do you sigh, love?
she asks.

Because I left my heart with a
flock of ravens under a freeway
over pass during a thunderstorm

Because your two brown eyes
have found me at last
in the gentle gesture of wheat

We stand in silence on the bow
of a ship. She leans against me,

Why do you sigh, love?

Because there was a woman
sitting at a table, making shadow
plays against a wall and all
the world came to watch the
gentle movements of her hands.

Because tomorrow you will
leave taking only one thing
from me

to remember.

3 thoughts on “The Origin of Sighs

Leave a Reply

