Infidelity

I have chose tenderness

She lies curled up
next to a wall

In a makeshift bed –
her mind filled

with dark
fish that jump

to catch fireflies
that light her

silences.

I have chose tenderness

I lie next to her
put my leg over her

A small fire
burns in the corner

I comb her hair

My fingers tangle
Untangle the silk

Cord around a
Bright yellow

Bird’s leg –
Our son dreams

in the next room
our son and the bright

yellow bird fly
in circles above us

Singing us
to sleep

I have chosen tenderness

Leave a Reply

